Home » books » Top 5 Anticipated Books

Top 5 Anticipated Books

As a reader I find myself with a TBR (to-be-read) stack about a mile high at any given moment. I am constantly adding to this pile and I try to refer to it as I finish books and get ready to start new ones. Alas, I have a weakness for books and sometimes, instead of choosing books from this stack, I just add new ones to the stack and pick titles that are not on this list at all. Oh, and sometimes there are newly released books that I have to devour immediately.

In all of this booky confusion, there are some books that I am really looking forward to reading. Some of them are not going to come out for a long time, some of them are coming out pretty soon, and some of them are already out and I just haven’t gotten my hands on them yet. And so, without further ado, here is my own personal list of top 5 anticipated books.

1. The Winds of Winter by George RR Martin

The sixth book in the Son of Fire and Ice series. This book is highly anticipate by the entire world and George RR Martin is on the proverbial plank for this one. There is no release date and he is racing to beat the HBO series, Game of Thrones, to the finish line. I feel sorry for the man, I really do. He probably shouldn’t have signed on for the series without finishing the books first, maybe he bit off more than he could chew. Anywhoo, I love the Song of Fire and Ice series and I devoured the first five books the moment I heard about them.  The entire series is basically about a war for a kingdom and a battle against an ancient magic. The last book ended with a mother of a cliff hanger and I want to know what happens.

Also, and I’m sure I’m not alone on this one, I am a reader in a family that doesn’t read much. My friends and family watch the TV show and I was reading through these babies during season two. Let me tell you. I had to squelch a lot of my OMGs and WTFs for a while and die to spill these big events. All of these big things happened in the series and are still happening since the show is behind the series, for now, so it’s like the rest of the world had a delayed reaction. Like this:

Oh, and this too

 

2. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Sometimes, when I am feeling spunky, I walk the isles of my local library and pick up a random book . The Throne of Glass series by Sarah Maas was a wonderful result of this randomness. The way Maas describes this series is that she thought, “What if Cinderella didn’t go to the ball to meet the prince, but instead when there to kill him” and she wrote her story from there. There is a delightful love triangle (think Team Edward and Team Jacob but with more chivalry and knight in shining armor and less fur and sparkles) and the main character is such a strong woman and assassin that she is above it all, kind of. I highly recommend picking up the series. The third book, Heir of Fire, is due to release on September 2nd of this year. I, for one, am counting the days.

 

3. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Claire

This is the 6th book in The Mortal Instruments series. I can’t seem to get enough of these books despite the initial awkwardness of Jace and Clary being possible brother and sister. I won’t give any details away since I am not a fan of spoilers. Also, there was a movie released last year based on the first book, and let me just say that this book was meant to be just that, a book. It did not translate well into film. Just saying.

If you haven’t read this series yet it is about a girl who is a demon hunter and didn’t know it. She only finds out after her mother goes missing because the memory erasing spell, which her mother had a wizard performed on her her entire life, slowly fades. When her abilities return she is thrown face first into the dark world of demons, vampires, werewolves, and a really hot guy who may or may not be her brother. Definitely worth the read and the new installment is releasing on May 27th!

 

4. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

The first book in the All Souls series is one that has been on my Kindle Fire for – ev – er and I want to read it SO BAD but I just keep skimming over it. Why do I do this? I don’t know, maybe I just like suspense… or masochism….who knows. Anyway. I don’t really know too many details of this book (I said I don’t like spoilers) just that it is about a witch who has chosen to live her life as a human because of her parents’ mysterious deaths. She works at the Oxford library and comes across a book that reacts to her powers and is then approached by a very handsome vampire who tries to sway her with is cocky charisma and good looks (cause that’s what vampires are good at right?) and this leads into the story.

There is a third book coming out on July 15th titled The Book of Life and I would really like to get caught up with the series before it is released, but I probably won’t get to it until fall. But that’s ok, because I enjoy reading about witches and vampires and magic in the fall.

 

5. Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

Ok, so I’m a sucker for a hot guy with emotions and what not, who isn’t. This book is a brief back story for the character Four from the Divergent series as well as his take on Triss. I’m not sure how far into the story of the series this book will take us but it does at least get to the point when he first meets Triss. The book is made up of four short stories put into one book. This compilation is due out July 8th.

 

There are more books that I want to read, like I said, mile high TBR stack. Here’s to your next great read, may it bring you much joy.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Anticipated Books

  1. Haha, I can totally relate to being the only one who has read the ASOIAF books. My non-reader husband and I watch every week and he’s pretty much banned me from talking during the episodes. Thanks for taking part in the challenge 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bout of Books Progress Updates | Bookality

Leave a Reply

