Home » books » Review: Gameboard of the Gods

Review: Gameboard of the Gods

I just finished Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead and let me tell you, I am ready to read the next book in the Age of X series.I read that Mead’s writing style and character build would be evident in this book but I have never read any of Mead’s books, like Vampire Academy, but I do like her writing style. One of the reasons I enjoy reading YA books so much is that there is all the action and story line without all the uncomfortable descriptive sex scenes. I don’t mind some romance and the occasional sex scene in my books, but some authors take it a little too far. In this book there is only one real sex scene that is described in any length. There is another later in the book, but she doesn’t go into serious detail because it is not meant to be an important experience for the character. And the descriptions used are tasteful and tactful.

I will say that it took about four chapters for me to really get into this book. I almost put this one down, but given the other reviews I’ve read I hung in there and I’m glad I did. For the first four chapters there is just a lot of set up for the characters and their respective lives and places in the world. Once those things were established though, there was plenty to keep me interested. The emotional turmoil and the battle within the characters is enough of an adventure, let alone the actual adventure taking place.

Another thing I had a hard time with is the way Mead didn’t really explain everything at first. There are certain aspects of the book that the reader will just simply not understand until over halfway through the book, I just kind of got used to those elements and once I found out the story behind them I just thought, “Oh, well ok then.” It didn’t take away from the book too much, and it wasn’t very confusing to me, but if you want all your info up front you might not like this.

The ending to Gameboard of the Gods is not really an ending really, because it is the first in a series, the Age of X series, and yes there is significance behind that name. There is a end to the plot of this particular book, but it lends an opening to a whole “bigger picture” type story. I can confidently say that I would recommend this book to many of my friends. Maybe not all of them (it is over 400 pages after all) but definitely to my friends who love to get lost in a good book. Look out for the sequel, The Immortal Crown. It is set to release on the 29th of this month.

2 thoughts on “Review: Gameboard of the Gods

  1. Pingback: Bout of Books Progress Updates | Bookality

  2. Pingback: ARC Review: The Immortal Crown | Bookality

Leave a Reply

