Home » books » 11 TV Shows Based on Books Currently Airing

11 TV Shows Based on Books Currently Airing

It seems like every time I pick up a book lately I find out that it is being made into a movie. This can be a little annoying to some because no book can be adapted perfectly to the big screen, and some books that should never been put to film. There are also T.V. shows that are adapted from books, surprisingly enough (or not so surprisingly), and, while some are well known, others are a not. I recently learned that one of my favorite new television shows was derived from a book series. I had not idea, and since I am an avid book reader, I am now obligated to read each and every one of them. I just have to.

So, after this startling realization I thought I would make a list of these T.V. shows that are based off books. This list is shows that are currently on TV, some may be surprising and others may not be. The pictures of the book covers are directly linked to Amazon.com, you can click on them for more information about the books.

 


1. Witches of East End (Lifetime) – I know! I didn’t know this either. I may or may not be the last one to know this great show is from a book series. This is the show I was talking about. The series is based on the Beauchamp Series written by Melissa De La Cruz and The Witches of East End is the first of the series. Oh, and it was instantly added to my never ending TBR list on Goodreads. The new season starts July 6th at 9/8c.

 

 


2. The Vampire Diaries (CW) – I know that everybody is well aware that this show is based on The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith. The book series is nothing like the show, the show is much better. The books are way out there in terms of a believable story line. I know that vampires, werewolves, and demons are aren’t real, but there is a line of reality that is blurred, crossed, and completely destroyed. The Awakening is the first in the series. This season’s final episode was a serious cliff hanger. Also, L.J. Smith’s Secret Circle series was a CW show, one I happened to love. Unfortunately it was canceled at the end of the first season.

 


3. The 100 (CW) – This show just wrapped up its first season and has been renewed for a second. It is based on Kass Morgan’s series The 100, which is also the name of the first book. I’ve not yet read the books but the show is pretty good. It lends a break to the mystic creatures that have taken over our screens as of late.

 

 

 

 


4. Bones (FOX) – The Temperance Brennan series is written by Kathy Reichs, who, like her main character, is a forensic anthropologist. Again, I’ve never read the books, but I love the show and have been watching it since the beginning. The first book of this series is titled Déjá Dead and there are currently 16 books in the series with the next one due out in September of this year.

 

 

5. Orange is the New Black (Netflix) – I have read this one, but I have yet to review it. It’s on my to do list. This is  based on a true story, and I mean loosely. The characters are mostly the same but the show is way more dramatic than the book, but both are wonderfully entertaining. Orange is the New Black was written by Piper Kerman about her stay in a women’s prison and it is eye opening. You can even read the original blog her husband kept while she was serving her time. The second season will be available on Netflix on June 6th of this year.

 


6. Game of Thrones (HBO) – Everybody and their dog know about this book derived show unless they have been living under a rock for the past two or three years. A Song of Fire and Ice series is written by George R. R. Martin and there are two books yet to be finished and published and there are no dates available as to when the next one will be available. Game of Thrones is the first book in the series and I highly recommend that you and everyone you know read these books and watch the show. But make sure you know at least one person who also read or is reading the books because you will need someone to talk to…just saying.

7. Hemlock Grove (Netflix) – This show is dark, really dark. Definitely not kid friendly. Paranormal, supernatural, and dysfunctional family members. The book Hemlock Grove was written by Brian McGreevy and I have not read it but I just purchased it and plan to read it soon. The second season should be released on Netflix on July 11th.

 

 

8. Suburgatory (ABC) – Unfortunately this is one of the shows ABC cancelled and will not be returning for a new season in the Spring. However, you may be surprised to know that it is based off a book titled Suburgatory: Twisted Tales from Darkest Suburbia by Linda Erin Keean. This show is simple and funny with familiar faces and it is only a pleasant 30 minutes long. It is too bad there won’t be any more new episodes.

 

 


9. True Blood (HBO) – It is about to air it’s final season and I am sad to say I didn’t watch last season at all. I did read every single book that was released in the Sookie Stackhouse series which was written by Charlaine Harris. The first book titled Dead Until Dark. Read the books, watch the show, enjoy the hot vampires, a no-nonsense main character, and awesomeness that is southern living.

 


10. Justified (FX) – Although this show is AWESOME and the story line is action packed with great humor, let me be completely honest about the reason I watch this show. Raylan Givens and Boyd Crowder. Pronto is the first installment in the Raylan Givens series written by Elmore Leonard. I will admit that I have only read the first book, but I plan to read more. Oh, and watch more Justified.

 

 


11. The Walking Dead (AMC) – The Walking Dead was originally a comic book series, or graphic novel series, created by Robert Kirkman and I can say from personal experience that it is one of the most brutal things I have ever witnessed. The show has certainly hit some people the wrong way, but the books are worse. And the worst part, it’s hard to put down no matter how disgusted or appauled you are. Let me say, I am a huge fan of the show but not so much of the books.

 

Leave a Reply

