Home » Uncategorized » Reading VS Audiobook

Reading VS Audiobook

Image

 

I am currently working on my first audio book ever. Don’t judge me. The  experience has come with mixed feelings. On one hand it is nice to continue the story while I am doing laundry, washing dishes, mowing the lawn, or even driving. However, I am not sure how I feel about someone else’s experience replacing mine.

When you think about it, it’s almost like the person reading the book is putting thoughts in your mind because if you are the one reading you are using nothing but the words and your imagination to create the story for yourself. Also, you have your inner voice reading the story in your head….am I making sense? Well I know what I’m talking about, hopefully you all are not completely lost. It is almost like someone else’s thoughts are invading my head… and I’m not sure I like that. I will have to give a few other books a try. It is a bit of a break for my eyes when I’ve been on a long reading bender.

In addition, there is the Kindle Fire text-to-speech tool that allows you to kind of have an audio book (that sounds like a robot) and then pick up and read when you want also. I like that a little better, but the voice could be better…

What are your thoughts? Do you listen to audio books? Do you prefer them to reading or are they just convenient?

9 thoughts on “Reading VS Audiobook

  1. I haven’t really listened to any audio books yet, but I do plan to do so. I think I will prefer physical books to audio books. But I also think that listening to an audio book of a favorite book or series would be interesting. Since you already have the way you think about the book in your head (does that make sense?)
    But maybe I am wrong, since I haven’t listened to any yet.

    • It had its advantages. The book was really thick so it was nice to not have to drag my way through it, the book wasn’t great. And hands free book consumption was nice too.

  2. I love the app Audible, but sometimes it’s hard to focus when you’re not reading a page. It is nice to double your reading time though because you can listen in the car and on the subway. But paper books will always triumph audiobooks! For anyone interested in the Audible app, I got an email yesterday stating that they’re offering two free months for new members. Food for thought!

    • Agreed. Sometimes actually reading the book is better. Especially when the book isn’t great but you need or want to read it because you need to review it or you’ve been wanting to read it for a long time. Easy to get distracted too.

  3. I don’t listen to audiobooks. I tried a couple of times, but I simply can’t keep track, I need to rewind and listen to some parts again because my mind wanders. Even when I am doing some simple job and when I do something more complicated I don’t even hear it because I concentrate on that task.
    So for me to listen to audiobook it requires to relax sit and listen and if I have time to do that, I would rather read a real book.

  4. Certain types of books, mysteries mostly, I don’t mind in audio format, in part because they’re the sort of book that wouldn’t take me a lot of time to read in print format. But for the rest, I generally prefer to read it myself. That said, I do like audiobooks for re-reads. For instance, I loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society when I read it 5 years ago and I felt like another go-through recently. The audiobook, which is voiced by a whole cast of people, as opposed to a single reader, is a perfect way to revisit the story, but, since I know mostly how things are going to go, I don’t have to take it in as carefully and can listen to it instead and do other things, like knit, at the same time.

Leave a Reply

