Home » books » Review: The Witches of East End

Review: The Witches of East End

witchesofeastendAfter reading a bunch of chunky books, The Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz was a fresh change. This is exactly the light hearted and fun read that I have been looking for. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy a good thick book, but I also want to be able to relax and let a book carry me away without having to concentrate too hard. And for those looking for a New Adult genre book that isn’t just a romance novel, this is the book you’re looking for.

The reviews I’ve read about this book have all been pretty negative, but i don’t get why. Yes, the book isn’t very deep and the characters are a not complex. Does every book have to be like watching a movie you can’t look away from because you will get lost? Or does every book have to be serious and robust? I don’t think I would want all the books I read to be that way. I like my books the same way I like my T.V. shows; I like in depth dramas that I have to really keep up with, but sometimes a good 30 minute comedy or light hearted drama is a nice change. And….I’m off my soap box.

The Witches of East End is a fun book to get into. The characters are easily relatable, the plot is pretty simple with a few interesting twists, there are some hot guys that you can’t help but drool over, and magic is in abundance. Plus, it has a stick-it-to-the-man quality. I liked the three Beauchamp women in this book, each had her own strengths and weaknesses and they all rely on each other for different things. Even though they are supposed to be goddesses stuck on Earth they are humble and grounded. The love triangle Freya has going on is steamy with just the right touch of romance without being too trashy or uncomfortably descriptive. I can honestly say that I would recommend this book to my fellow book lovers! The new season of The Witches of East End on Liftime is set to start on July 6th and I couldn’t be more ready!

Happy reading everyone!


 

AmazonGoodreadsBarnes and Noble

3 thoughts on “Review: The Witches of East End

    • That’s what I say too! I don’t always want a book that is four inches thick. It really was a fun read. I’m going to try to pick up the second one soon.

  1. Pingback: 5 Friday Favorites: Summer Reads | Bookality

Leave a Reply

