Home » books » Netflix Your Books

Netflix Your Books

There are so many great books out there that it seems like they are all being made into a movie or a TV show. Every time I find a great book it seems like I find out that it is being adapted for the screen and I don’t know how I feel about that. I like my books as books, and not all books should be movies or TV shows.

Lets take a look at some of the books that have been adapted to the big or little screen that you can watch from the comfort of your own home, with or without pants, on Netflix.

Orange-Is-The-New-Black-season-2-Piper-350x517Orange is The New Black – Lets start with the obvious shall we? This is an amazing book and show. The creators of this show also created Weeds and so it makes since that this too would be a crowd pleaser. I’ve read the book and loved it, I watch the show and love it. Either way, you really can’t go wrong. The second season just became available on 6/8 and I’m wondering how many people binged on it and are now regretting their decision because they have to wait another year for the next season. Thus, the main con of Netflix producing its own shows. I have only watched the first episode, but I am trying to contain myself and practice restraint so I don’t over indulge.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

vampirediaries-book1

 

The Vampire Diaries – Also pretty well known. This is a CW show as well as a Canadian show. Did you know that most of the really awesome shows these days come from Canada? Well, at least the CW shows do and, lets face it, most of them are great. I do not recommend the books though, they were kind of way out there in the terms of reality. I know that vampires, werewolves, and hybrids (oh my!) are not real, but there is still a thin line of realism that I need maintained in order to really enjoy a book, and this crossed it over and over. The book series was written by LJ Smith. Did you know it was originally published in 1991? It’s amazing what some new cover art will do.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Book_TheSecretCircle_Captive_Pt1

The Secret Circle – This one was killed before its time. I LOVED following Cassie and her mismatched band of witches run around on goose chases while they tried not to fall in love with their best-friends’ boyfriends and what not. It was actually a pretty good show, one that I have watched through about two times and have been thinking about rewatching it again. This one is also a CW show and based on a book series by L.J. Smith and was originally published in 1992. I have read this series, and while it is very much written for teens, it was still a pretty good fun, easy read to pass some time. Not the next Divergent series, but it will do for a lazy weekend.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

American Psycho – I’ve not read this book, but I have watched the movie. It is a good one that 215px-Americanpsychoposterstars Christian Bale as a hot businessman who tries to maintain his “yuppie” life style while indulging himself in his homicidal urges. What a novel that would make right? I need to read this one.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

silence_of_the_lambs_ver2_xlgThe Silence of the Lambs – Another one I haven’t read, but I did just pick it up at my local used bookstore. I don’t know if I am looking forward to reading this book or not. I guess it depends on who’s point of view it is from. I don’t know if I want to be in Hannibal Lecter’s head.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

43396395572_p0_v1_s260x420

Bag of Bones – I have not read or seen this, I want to though. It is on my Netflix list. The ghost of a blues singer haunts a writer as he retreats into his quiet place in the woods. Even though I haven’t seen or read it, it is Stephen King, it deserves to be on my list.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

 

 

 

 

51AUy8t7xLL._SY300_

 

Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason – I loved the movies, but unfortunately haven’t read the books. Although I’ve read that it is like Harry Potter without the magic and with more bills and a mortgage. I’m not sure if I get that, but it does have good reviews so maybe one day I will pick it up.

Netflix – Amazon – B&N – Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Netflix Your Books

  1. I love some of these and hate others. I love both book and movie of Silence of the Lambs, but there’s really no getting Anthony Hopkins as Lecter out of your head. I also recommend the prequel (Red Dragon) and the sequel (Hannibal) if you’re into the serial killer thing. 🙂

  2. I totally LOVE binge watching shows and I think this is how they should all be done. I let several weeks of episodes on shows pile up in my Hulu queue just so I can binge watch them! I know The Vampire Diaries started out with one author and then several books in they switched authors and kept L.J. Smith as the author name. I love the show but haven’t read the books because I wonder if the switch in authors makes it all over the place.

    • I too love binge watching my favorite shows, pants optional. lol
      I knew that they switched to a ghost writer at some point in the books because the publishers didn’t like the way L.J. Smith was headed with the love triangle, but I still thought the series was WAY out there. Like, all over the place. If you ever read it you will see what I mean. The first book or so is ok, then it just goes crazy with the supernatural aspect and just everything is weird and like, “um…ok….” Love the show though! Team Damien!

    • OMG! Me too! I LOVE that series. My husband is a deputy, he says that it is very close to real life prison and he doesn’t like watching it. I have to watch it when he isn’t around or he is doing something else. Have you watched any of the new season? Him not liking it helps me pace myself. I was really excited to see Tank girl as Lolli.

Leave a Reply

