Home » books » Throwback Thursday: Twilight

Throwback Thursday: Twilight

twilightI first came across the book Twilight, written by Stephanie Meyer. while browsing the available books on Paperbackswap.com in 2008. I had never heard of the book, but the reviews were good and the synopsis sounded promising, so I ordered it. The copy I received was pretty well worn. The cover was cracking and about to fall off, but the pages were intact.

As I started reading the book I fell in love with the story; it was addictive and I couldn’t put it down. I think I read the first book in about two days. After reading through the first half of the book I found out that a movie adaptation was being released within a month or so. This was the beginning of a long line of books I’ve read and loved, only to find out they are being made into movies. This trend is still happening now. When I finished Twilight I got online and started to look into the series and quickly discovered there was a large following. Luckily, three books out the four books of the series were already released. Needless to say, I reserved my copy of Breaking Dawn at my local bookstore and attended their release party to get my grubby little hands on my book at midnight (the soonest they would give it to me).

I loved these books. Granted New Moon was not all that great, I didn’t like it when Edward left Bella. Team Edwards all the way! The love story between Bella and Edwards, and the connection between Bella and Jacob, were (and still are) epic. The turmoil in Bella, how she wanted to do right by her dad,  love Edward, and make her Mom happy were so amazing. It was the first book I had ever read like this. I read Harry Potter, The Hobbit, and Wicked, but this was the first book of its kind I had ever read and it opened a whole new world of books up to me. I had no idea that there were books that I could relate to so much. I know I don’t have a glistening vampire and a heat generating wolf-boy pining for me, but I knew what it meant to be torn between love, family, and self. After reading this series I started looking for other books and found the Southern Vampire series, which were made into a show. From there I branched out and though I loved reading before, I came to crave it.

I watched the movies when they came out. The first book was so disappointing to me that I almost didn’t bother to see the others, except the previews showed a better quality of film and they ended up being much better. In the first Twilight movie it was almost like the directer was trying too hard to make everything look artistic and took away from the story too much. Too many long stares and Kirsten Stewart smirks made it seem watered down. I know that it is impossible to make a movie exactly like a book, but the movie made it seem like Bella and Edward fell in love and devoted themselves to one another for all eternity in the matter of a couple days. That was so frustrating to me. It took away from the whole point of the first book for me. The longing and waiting, the pining and flirting, those were some of the best parts of Twilight.

But, I digress. I loved this series. Unfortunately, since it gained somewhat of a cult following and became such a big part of pop culture that it is now a cliche, most people won’t admit to loving this series. I am not one of those people, and nobody should be ashamed of what they like. I will give the movie one thing though, and that is this:

twilight 1I am Team Edward, but Taylor Lautner is much tastier eye candy than Robert Pattinson.

And also, I need to get something off my chest that I have been holding on to since the first Twilight was released in theaters:

This woman’s hair

victoria 1

is not red.

victora 12*sigh* That’s better.  I think I threw popcorn at the screen over that one…

 

AmazonGoodreadsB&N

Leave a Reply

