Home » books » Happy Kissing Day | YA Addition

Happy Kissing Day | YA Addition

Happy International Kissing Day!

kissing kiss1

kiss2

 

Today, July 6th,  is International Kissing Day, and to celebrate I thought I would remind all of us of the amazing kisses shared some of the most amazingly steamy, sweet, and even awkward kisses shared with our favorite characters.

 

divergent1. Divergent

Amazon Goodreads B&N

Who could forget the chemistry between Tris and Four? Not this girl!

The lead up to the kiss, you know it is coming and you are wanting to shake the book your hands a scream “KISS ALREADY!”

“He turns toward me. I want to touch him, but I’m afraid of his bareness; afraid that he will make me bare too.
‘Is this scaring you, Tris?’
‘No,’ I croak. I clear my throat. ‘Not really. I’m only…afraid of what I want.’
‘What do you want?’ Then his face tightens. ‘Me?’
Slowly I nod.” 

And then it finally happens and you let out an audible sigh

“He slides his hand over my cheek, one finger anchored behind my ear. Then he tilts his head down and kisses me, sending a warm ache through my body. I wrap my hands around his arm, holding him there as long as I can. When he touches me, the hollowed-out feeling in my chest and stomach is not as noticeable.” 

 

twilight2. Twilight

Amazon Goodreads B&N

Every single scene in the Twilight Saga seems to be intense, especially the kissing scenes. Like this one:

“He placed his hands against the Jeep on either side of my head and leaned forward, forcing me to press back against the door. He leaned in even closer, his face inches from mine. I had no room to escape.
“Now,” he breathed, and just his smell disturbed my thought processes, “what exactly are you worrying about?”
“Well, um, hitting a tree -” I gulped “- and dying. And then getting sick.”
He fought back a smile. Then he bent his head down and touched his cold lips softly to the hollow at the base of my throat.
“Are you still worried now?” he murmured against my skin.
“Yes.” I struggled to concentrate. “About hitting trees and getting sick.”
His nose drew a line up the skin of my throat to the point of my chin. His cold breath tickled my skin.
“And now?” His lips whispered against my jaw.
“Trees,” I gasped. “Motion sickness.”
He lifted his face to kiss my eyelids. “Bella, you don’t really think I would hit a tree, do you?”
“No, but I might.” There was no confidence in my voice. He smelled an easy victory.
He kissed slowly down my cheek, stopping just at the corner of my mouth.
“Would I let a tree hurt you?” His lips barely brushed against my trembling lower lip.
“No,” I breathed. I knew there was a second part to my brillant defense, but I couldn’t quite call it back.
“You see,” he said, his lips moving against mine. “There’s nothing to be afraid of, is there?”
“No,” I sighed, giving up.
Then he took my face in his hands almost roughly, and kissed me in earnest, his unyielding lips moving against mine.
There was really no excuse for my behavior. Obviously I knew better by now. And yet I couldn’t seem to stop from reacting exactly as I had the first time. Instead of keeping safely motionless, my arms reached up to twine tightly around his neck, and I was suddenly welded to his stone figure. I sighed, and his lips parted.” 

 

newmoon3. New Moon

Amazon Goodreads B&N

Yes I know it’s still the Twilight Saga, but this one is with Jake, also dreamy and steamy.

“His mouth was on mine then, and I couldn’t fight him. Not because he was so many thousand times stronger than me, but because my will crumbled into dust the second our lips met. This kiss was not quite as careful as others I remembered, which suited me just fine. If I was going to rip myself up further, I might as well get as much in trade as possible.
So I kissed him back, my heart pounding out a jagged, disjointed rhythm while my breathing turned to panting and my fingers moved greedily to his face. I could feel his marble body against every line of mine, and I was so glad he hadn’t listened to me―there was no pain in the world that would have justified missing this. His hand memorized my face, the same way mine were tracing his, and, in the brief seconds when his lips were free, he whispered my name.” 

 

crownofmidnight4. Crown of Midnight

Amazon Goodreads B&N

Sometimes it takes a while for someone to get the guts up to make the first move, in this case it took a book and a half. Better late than never right?

“There had never been any line between them, only his own stupid fear and pride. Because from the moment he’d pulled her out of that mine in Endovier and she had set those eyes upon him, still fierce despite a year in hell, he’d been walking toward this, walking to her. So Chaol brushed away her tears, lifter her chin, and kissed her.”

 

city of ashes5. City of Ashes

AmazonGoodreadsB&N

Then, sometimes (always) after the two finally confess their feelings, something comes between them. Then they HAVE to get back together, and you know they will…they just don’t yet. But sometimes there is that moment when you are all, “See? Told ya!”

“While this is all very amusing, the kiss that will free the girl is the kiss that she most desires,” she said. “Only that and nothing more.”

Jace’s heart started to pound. He met the Queen’s eyes with his own. “Why are you doing this?”

… “Desire is not always lessened by disgust…And as my words bind my magic, so you can know the truth. If she doesn’t desire your kiss, she won’t be free.”

“You don’t have to do this, Clary, it’s a trick—” (Simon)

…Isabelle sounded exasperated. ‘Who cares, anyway? It’s just a kiss.”

“That’s right,” Jace said. Clary looked up, then finally, and her wide green eyes rested on him. He moved toward her… and put his hand on her shoulder, turning her to face him… He could feel the tension in his own body, the effort of holding back, of not pulling her against him and taking this one chance, however dangerous and stupid and unwise, and kissing her the way he had thought he would never, in his life, be able to kiss her again. “It’s just a kiss,” he said, and heard the roughness in his own voice, and wondered if she heard it, too.

Not that it mattered—there was no way to hide it. It was too much. He had never wanted like this before… She understood him, laughed when he laughed, saw through the defenses he put up to what was underneath. There was no Jace Wayland more real than the one he saw in her eyes when she looked at him… All he knew was that whatever he had to owe to Hell or Heaven for this chance, he was going to make it count.

He…whispered in her ear. “You can close your eyes and think of England, if you like,” he said.
Her eyes fluttered shut, her lashes coppery lines against her pale, fragile skin. “I’ve never even been to England,” she said, and the softness, the anxiety in her voice almost undid him. He had never kissed a girl without knowing she wanted it too, usually more than he did, and this was Clary, and he didn’t know what she wanted. Her eyes were still closed, but she shivered, and leaned into him — barely, but it was permission enough.

His mouth came down on hers. And that was it. All the self-control he’d exerted over the past weeks went, like water crashing through a broken dam. Her arms came up around his neck and he pulled her against him… His hands flattened against her back… and she was up on the tips of her toes, kissing him as fiercely as he was kissing her… He clung to her more tightly, knotting his hands in her hair, trying to tell her, with the press of his mouth on hers, all the things he could never say out loud…

His hands slid down to her waist… he had no idea what he would have done or said next, if it would have been something he could never have pretended away or taken back, but he heard a soft hiss of laughter — the Faerie Queen — in his ears, and it jolted him back to reality. He pulled away from Clary before he it was too late, unlocking her hands from around his neck and stepping back… Clary was staring at him. Her lips were parted, her hands still open. Her eyes were wide. Behind her, Alec and Isabelle were gaping at them; Simon looked as if he was about to throw up.

…If there had ever been any hope that he could have come to think of Clary as just his sister, this — what had just happened between them — had exploded it into a thousand pieces… He tried to read Clary’s face — did she feel the same? … I know you felt it, he said to her with his eyes, and it was half bitter triumph and half pleading. I know you felt it, too…She glanced away from him… He whirled on the Queen. “Was that good enough?” he demanded. “Did that entertain you?”

The Queen gave him a look: special and secretive and shared between the two of them. “We are quite entertained,” she said. “But not, I think, so much as the both of you.” 

 

Those are just a few of the great kissing excerpts form some of my favorite books. What are your favorite kissing scenes?

Leave a Reply

