Home » books » Snark Week DAY 2: Feeding Frenzy

Snark Week DAY 2: Feeding Frenzy

snark_week_bannerSnark Wee is a week long book blogger challenge hosted by Parajunkee. Ever day during this week there is a writing prompt to follow. After writing your post, just simply go to the original post on Parajunkee and link up! Fun! And who doesn’t love to be snarky?

Day 2 Challenge: Feeding Frenzy! The Top Ten List of Worst Books You’ve Ever Read (not in any certain order)

the stars are falling1.  The Stars are Falling by Michelle Birbeck

The main character looses her Mom and then immediately takes to obsessing over a guy, immediately. She justifies having no emotional ties to her mother’s death with the fact that she is trying to survive an alien takeover (understandably), but she has time to make out with and obsess over her crush…..I can’t support a main character like that.

 

cover45569-medium2. Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

Instant love, stalker obsession, and a shallow main character. Also, this book throws out the whole “beauty is only skin deep” thing. You can’t always get EVERYTHING you want with good looks.

 

cover36242-medium3. The Curse Keeper by Denise Grover Swank

I have lots to say about this book, check out my review here.

 

31242494. A Lion Among Men by Gregory Maguire

I couldn’t get into it, it was just dry and uninteresting.

 

86678485. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

This book seriously disappointed me. I want to like it so much, I really did, and I tried to enjoy it. I just didn’t like it. It was about as interesting as out could imagine a historian/witch who deliberately ignores all magic and avoids anything interesting could be. The main characters were dull and lacked personality to me. I read the first and half of the second boo, but it was just not for me.

 

30183

6. House of Night Series by P.C. Cast

I read the first few book of this series, and while they were ok in the beginning, there was a point in which they just seemed to spiral out of control and got a little strange, in a bad way. I may pick this back up again, but that is solely on a recommendation from a friend that they get better. I have doubts though.

 

vampirediaries-book1

7. Vampire Diaries Series by L.J. Smith

It seems like the author just jumped all over the freaking place in these series…SPOILER WARNING: First Elaina is a human, then a vampire, then a ghost, a mute angel, and then a human again…then when she is finally a normal person again they all go to a hell dimension and run around as pretend slaves….WTF?!

 

6571723

8. Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine (ok, just past book 5 or 6 because it got redundant)

Again, the first 3 or 4 books were ok, but then it just got drawn out…sometimes you just need to stop. Serisouly.

 

matched9. Matched by Ally Condie

DNF, couldn’t get into it.

 

24200610. Running With Scissors by Augusten Burroughs

I read this book when I was like, 18, because I was trying to be all indie and unique…I actually hated it.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Snark Week DAY 2: Feeding Frenzy

  1. I’ve actually read a lot of the House of Night series, also all of The Morganville Vampires, and one of The Vampire Diaries. Now it has been a couple of years since I’ve read House of Night and Vampire Diaries. But I got bored with the House of Night novels after a while, and The Vampire Diaries was okay. However, I did really like The Morganville vampires except for the last few books. I think it started at number ten or eleven till the end, it just got old and was repeating pretty much over and over. But until then I really liked it.

    Good list.

    My Snark Week Post
    Whitney@Shooting Stars Reviews

  2. I read the first Vampire Diary books back when they first came out (when I was in high school) and they were good, but the new ones are just… awful. So I skipped them. I did read the House of Night books for awhile (I was living in Oklahoma when they first came out so I wanted to support local authors), but the faults I overlooked in the first few books just got worse. So tired of main characters who everyone instantly falls in love with. I want to like Gregory Mcguire, but after several books, I have to admit that I don’t like his writing. Matched was not compelling enough for me to want to continue with the series (honestly, your whole family and your life will be destroyed if you don’t marry the guy your corrupt government wants you to, but no big deal, dubious true love trumps family, ugh).

    I do love The Discovery of Witches series, but I listened to them on audio (on the very last hour of the very last one now). But I get that they aren’t for everyone.

  3. I also hated Discovery of Witches. I thought I must be missing something because most people rave about it, but it just did nothing for me. I quit after starting the second book too (it was the complete misunderstanding of time travel that did it for me).

Leave a Reply

