Home » books » Review: Mara Dyer Trilogy Books 1 and 2

Review: Mara Dyer Trilogy Books 1 and 2

1140865013643567

The Mara Dyer Series by Michelle Hodkin

#1: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

#2: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

#3: The Retrobution of Mara Dyer (release date Nov 4, 2014)

YA Paranormal Thriller

Ok, so these books…yeah. Mind=Blown

First I was like

giphy

and then I was like

giphy (1)

 

 

Because these books are crazy, I could. not. put. them. down. Here is the basic run down of the story:

Mara Dyer is a girl who may or may not be going completely insane. I’m talking institutionalized, schizophrenic, committed insane. She even thinks she might be, and her family is pretty convinced she is. Why is poor Mara having such a hard time? Well, let me tell you. First, she plays with a Ouija board at a friends house, big no no. Then she wakes up in a hospital room with no memory of how she got there. Her mother tells her that she was in an accident with three of her friends, but she is the only one who survived. Let the freaking out commence. Mara convinces her family to move so she can get a fresh start away from the memory of her friends and the tragedy that took their lives. After the move she starts to try to pick up the pieces of her life and also starts trying to remember what happens, only what she remembers isn’t what she expected.

Mara finds love, she finds her memory, and she finds the psychiatric ward. End of book one. In book two we find out that Mara may not be so cray cray after all, her life really is that insane. Though her parents don’t believe her still, her new boo does and he is really freaking hot and also shares some of Mara’s “issues.” Mara faces institutionalization again, but she is not alone anymore. There is a real threat, but nobody believes her. Everything she thought was in her mind, it might be real, and that is scarier than thinking she is crazy. The second book ends with a MAJOR cliff hanger… I mean….OMG!

I was hanging on by the edge of my comforter the entire time that I was reading both books. I’m talking, from the first paragraph of the first book to the last of the second book I was hooked. Even though I didn’t want to, I had to put the them down a few times when I was alone in the dark because it gets pretty intense. There are so many crazy things going on in this story that my head was spinning, in a good way. This is a definite on my recommendation list, and I can not wait for the final book to release in November!

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

AmazonGoodreadsB&N

 

The Evolution of Mara Dyer

AmazonGoodreadsB&N

2 thoughts on “Review: Mara Dyer Trilogy Books 1 and 2

  1. Pingback: Transitioning to New Books | Bookality

  2. Pingback: Sequel Sequel | Bookality

Leave a Reply

