Home » books » Promo and Author Interview: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy

Promo and Author Interview: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy

averybanner
Avery_cover FINALAvery (The Chronicles of Kaya #1) by Charlotte McConaghy
The people of Kaya die in pairs. When one lover dies, the other does too. So it has been for thousands of years – until Ava.For although her bondmate, Avery, has been murdered and Ava’s soul has been torn in two, she is the only one who has ever been strong enough to cling to life. Vowing revenge upon the barbarian queen of Pirenti, Ava’s plan is interrupted when she is instead captured by the deadly prince of her enemies.

Prince Ambrose has been brought up to kill and hate. But when he takes charge of a strangely captivating Kayan prisoner and is forced to survive with her on a dangerous island, he must reconsider all he holds true . . .

In a violent country like Pirenti, where emotion is scorned as a weakness, can he find the strength to fight for the person he loves . . . even when she’s his vengeful enemy?

Avery is a sweeping, romantic fantasy novel about loss and identity, and finding the courage to love against all odds.

Goodreads | Amazon

Now Available: THORNE (The Chronicles of Kaya #2)
 
 
About the Author:
Celebrity_photographers_sydney_glamour_nudes_art_photography_Seductive

Charlotte started writing her children’s fantasy series ‘The Strangers of Paragor’ as a teenager and has since gone on to publish five novels. After a Masters degree in Screenwriting she wrote ‘Avery’, the first in her adult fantasy series ‘The Chronicles of Kaya’, published by Random House. She now lives in Sydney, Australia, and has just released a new dystopian sci-fi novel called ‘Fury – Book One of The Cure’, published by Momentum.

Exclusive Author Interview

1. What inspired you to write a novel?

I was fourteen when I started writing my first book, and I think it was simply because I loved stories and loved reading, but couldn’t find anything just right… It occurred to me that I could write my own favorite book, or at least try to, and it all went from there – I haven’t been able to stop writing since.

2. Is this the first piece you’ve written? If not, what other things have you written?

AVERY is my fourth published novel. First I wrote a YA fantasy series (this was the one I started when I was still a teen), then I moved into adult fantasy. Since AVERY I have also published its sequel – THORNE (which was just released last month) – and a sci-fi novel called FURY, which is the first in a new dystopian series called THE CURE.

3. Do you have a happy place where you write and/or brainstorm?

Not really… I do a lot of my brainstorming at night while I’m lying in bed trying to sleep – I can’t ever seem to shut my brain off. I write at my desk, and I work best at night with music playing. I think I could probably write anywhere, really, but it’s good to feel like you’re alone in your own little bubble – especially when you get emotional whilst writing particular scenes.

4. How do you overcome writer’s block?

Writer’s block, for me, is usually just exhaustion and lack of inspiration. So I take a break from writing and instead of outputting, I input. This basically means reading, watching something, going for a walk, socializing etc. And all of this will help to inspire me, which makes it easy to get back into writing. I think if you’re stuck at a particular spot in your novel (or whatever you’re writing) then it’s also wise to take a step back and look at the work as a whole. Think about your characters, the overarching goal, and try to free yourself up a bit. I often find that going back to what you originally loved about the story will inspire you to find that same excitement again.

5. Who is your favourite character to write?

I work hard to make sure that all my main characters are lovely to write. If I’m not enjoying them then they shouldn’t be in the book, or they need serious development. I LOVED writing Thorne (one of the main characters in AVERY) because he has such an incredible transformation over the course of the novel. That’s always the most fun – creating a character and painstakingly pressuring them to change. I love Ava and Ambrose as well, and I also particularly love Josi, who is the protagonist in my sci-fi novel FURY.

6. Do you draw inspiration from real people for your characters or are they completely fictional?

Hmm that’s a bit of a tricky one. I guess in a sense all my inspiration is from what I know – including the people I know – but I never try to take a real person’s personality and put it on paper. Just qualities or traits, here and there. Looking at archetypes and personality types really helps when I want to design a character, often more so than trying to make them too much like real people. The best thing that true personalities teach me is their complexities, and this is something that I always work hard to ensure for a novel.

7. Do you have to make any cuts to your book to keep it from getting too long? (Like deleted scenes.)

Not usually. Especially in fantasy, you can have longer stories. But I tend not to overwrite anyway, so cutting isn’t a big problem for me. Often I find I need to go back through and add in more to make sure the development and pacing is happening at the right times.

8. Are you currently working on any new projects?

I am, yes. After just having released THORNE, I’m now back into my other series, trying to finish the sequel to FURY. I’m so close to the end I can smell it! It’s at this stage that it starts to take over every inch of my brain.

9. What authors inspire you most?

Guy Gavriel Kay, Laini Taylor, Melina Marchetta, Glen Duncan and pierce Brown. Plus loads more.

10. What is/are your favourite books?

Red Rising, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Tigana, Quintana of Charyn, On The Jellico Road, Under the Never Sky, The Last Werewolf, The Scorpio Races, The Time Traveler’s Wife, The Princess Bride… The list is endless, I could go on forever.

Connect with the author:

 Website | Facebook | Twitter 

Giveaway:
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

2 thoughts on “Promo and Author Interview: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour Page: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy (Sept. 15-26) Adult Fantasy

  2. Awesome interview! I have to agree about Thorne, he’s so complex and I love when a character goes through SO much growth. He was one that really made me think.
    Thanks so much for hosting a tour stop today!

Leave a Reply

