Home » books » Sequel Sequel

Sequel Sequel

There comes a time in every reader’s year when sequels pile up. You know what I’m talking about. You read all those awesome books that are the first of its series and then have to wait for the next. Since sequels are all the rage these days, and yes I’m as frustrated as the next gal, there are a lot of these. We finish the first book and then look up the next and find that it is months or a year or more away from being released and it gets put on the future TBR pile and that’s where it stays. After a while there are so many they make a list of their own: Unpublished TBR Sequels.

With someone who reads a lot and has a lot of regular TBRs on the list the titles of these sequels get stuck in the corner and forgotten about. I slept since then right? The one day you finish a book and then start to look for the next and remember a book that was supposed to have come out recently that was a sequel to a book you read 6 months ago, and then remember another you read a year ago that was supposed to have a sequel out a few weeks ago…and the list starts to grow. Before too long you are Googling all the sequels that you have been sticking on that long list of future TBRs to see what is out and what you are still waiting on.

Let take a look at some of the books I’m waiting on, or have been waiting on.

The Winds of Winter by George R. R. Martin (release: TBA)

The Winds of Winter

I think the 6th installment of the GOT series is on just about everyone’s waiting list. There is no reported publication date but according to this article on The Washington Post, we can mathematically predict that it will be released between 2015 and 2017. Bummer.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Release: Nov 4 2014)

mara dyer 3

This book is one I have been looking forward to. It is the last of a trilogy that is filled with twists and turns. There is even a horror factor. I can safely say that reading this book in bed alone while my husband worked the night shift was not always a good idea. There were times when I had to put it up because it freaked me out too much. Great story, can’t wait to finish it. You can read my reviews of book one and two here.

 

Charmed by Michele Krys (release: March 6 2015)

charmed

Hexed is book one. It was a fun and exciting light read. I loved the dynamic between the main character, Indie, and the bad boy gone good, Bishop. There is another book that goes between numbers 1 and 2 titled Blackwood. According to Krys on her Goodreads author page this book will be out in April 2015, despite the date of June 10 2015 on its Goodread page. She also says that he has another short story in the works from the Hexed world that she hopes to release on Wattpad for free. Krys is a very sweet woman and she actually interacts with her fans. She gave me a personal shout out for my Hexed fashion post. Check out my review of Hexed here.

 

 

 

 

Winter by Melissa Meyer (release: expected Nov 2015)

winter

The Lunar Chronicles is such a great spin on a classic fairy tale, or should I say, fairy tales. If you haven’t read any of these book yet and Cinder has been patiently waiting your attention on your TBR list, I strongly recommend you pick it for your next book. It is well worth your time. Each book is based on a different fairy tale and they all are brought together and make a great story. Meyer did an amazing job making a new original story out of a classic one that everyone already knows.

 

 

 

 

 

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (release: September 2 2014)

heir of fire

Ok, so this one has been out for a while now, and I have read about half of it. I have checked this book out several times and read when I could between school work and 4 year old melt downs. The first two books in the Throne of Thorns series were so good I couldn’t put them down. For some reason I just can’t seem to immerse myself in this one as much. Maybe it is just me and my stress level lately, I hope that’s it. It isn’t uncommon for a great series to have a dud, especially when you have to wait a long time for the release of the sequel. Hopefully I will get to finish this book soon though. Gotta love Celaena and Chaol! Even if they are frustrating sometimes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

