Home » books » I Am Number Four: Review

I Am Number Four: Review

I Am Number Four has been on my to-be-read list for a long time and I finally picked it up. Color me disappointed. Not what I expected.

I am number fourI Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

YA Fantasy, SciFi

Published 2010

#1 of Lorien Legacies

I have seen the movie based on this book. It has been a long time but I remember it being OK, not great though. I expected more of the book because lets face it, books are better!

My expectations were not met. The entire book promised action at any moment, but it didn’t deliver until the last few chapters. Meaning, only a quarter of the book was actually interesting. Lots of information to give the reading since it was the first in a series. Show it, don’t tell it.

I’m debating about reading the second book of the Lorien Legacies series because if the last of this book was action filled, maybe there is more to be had in the other books. Me reading it isn’t certain though.

I had to force myself through this one, refusing to not finish it since it was on my TBR list for so long I felt I owed it to myself to finish it.

Here is the Goodreads excerpt:

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books–but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. We have lived among you without you knowing.

But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four.

I am next.

Leave a Reply

